job (a)musings

As far as Getting Myself Hired goes, the thing I need to realize is that for now, maybe, the only person who will hire me is me. So what I need to do is give myself a  job. Some jobs. Keep in mind the skills and experience that the job postings are asking for (I should add to this list every time I come across a job I really want but that I definitely do not qualify for; this is definitely not an exhaustive list at this point, containing lines pulled from only a handful of recent job postings):

  • “At least three years of experience working as a professional writer and/or copy editor in interactive media and/or other storytelling mediums”;
  • “Ability to craft diverse content ranging from long-form stories to “punchy” marketing/advertising copy”;
  • “Proficient in the use of technology tools to build and update web pages and emails”;
  • public-facing writing samples;
  • “Copy Editing fiction and stories outside of the gaming space, including Web/Mobile”;
  • “Professional experience copywriting for enterprise level clientele”;
  • “Exceptional writing skills across a range of platforms (site copy, email, promotions, ads)”;
  • ” experience working in community outreach, community relations, or public relations that includes leading outreach or public relations projects.”
  • “Experience with taxonomy, metadata and tagging”
  • XML, HTML experience
  • “Creation and maintenance of templates and emails, including dynamic content and subject lines”
  • “copywriting experience for B2C and B2B campaigns”
  • “Strong knowledge of SEO/SEM”
  • “Experience with brands” (what exactly does this mean?)
  • “Experience with online content creation, editing, and publication”
  • “Experience with an HTML or XML-based content management system”
  • “Experience with document tagging”
  • “Experience with DITA and SEO best practices”
  • “Prepare scripts for broadcast, print, and web projects, such as banner ads, websites and email campaigns”
  • “Develop concepts and write copy for advertising and marketing campaigns”
  • “Well-versed in content marketing trends, leadership and success stories”
  • “familiar with digital production tools such as HubSpot, Hootsuite and Trello”
  • “Strong project management skills”

July 28 update: more excerpts from job listings:

  • A portfolio of your work that showcases the UX/UI problem you helped solve for, your contributions, and the impact to the customer.
  • Able to thrive in a fast-paced environment, managing multiple, competing priorities simultaneously.
  • A team player with exceptional communication and collaboration skills, who can influence others to achieve goals and meet deadlines.
  • High attention to detail when managing multiple projects and incorporating feedback from others.
  • Excellent at creating and maintaining cross-functional working relationships.
  • Has a proven track record of taking ownership and driving initiatives.
  • Experience applying and creating terminology and usage lists, content patterns, and UI text style guidelines.
  • Experience creating instructional content to support UI features, concepts, and strategies for customer-facing, web-based tools.
  • a user experience writer with a fine-tuned ability to communicate the right thing in the right place at the right time to your audience. You are obsessed with the customer experience, always pushing for the highest standards and inspiring others to do the same. In previous roles, you’ve demonstrated an unwavering attention to detail, with an acute awareness that every word and detail in creative execution counts. Your colleagues appreciate your strong judgment and good instincts. You are comfortable operating at all levels, while staying connected to the details. You have a portfolio of work that shows how you simplified and enhanced the overall user experience, and measured the impact of those changes
  • You are a wordsmith–clever and quick-witted, artful and skillful in writing and editing. You have a knack for crafting and tailoring copy across various social media channels. Requires 2+ years experience.
  • Strong business judgment with a track record of successfully delivering quantifiable results and overall relationship management
  • Proven analytical thinking, project management skills, attention to detail and exceptional organizational skills are essential
  • Tenacity to develop ideas independently and thrive in a fast-paced start-up
  • Superior communication skills – communicates clearly and persuasively across different audiences and varying levels of the organization
  • Knowledge of environmental issues, state political playing field, and a commitment to protect, restore and sustain Washington’s environment. Strong commitment to environmental justice.
  • Expertise in developing strategic communications and marketing initiatives to advance organizational goals
  • Ability to lead communications efforts on legislative and policy campaigns.
  • Ability to set priorities and manage multiple short-term and long-term projects simultaneously.
  • Proven ability to work collaboratively with other organizations or entities and form strong working partnerships.
  • Excellent written and verbal communication skills.
  • Knowledge of and interest in existing and emerging communications technologies and social media channels.
  • Strong bias for action and the ability to prioritize and meet deadlines
  • Experience working independently and creating a path forward with ambiguity
  • Experience working with virtual and globally distributed teams
  • Experience producing reports, analyzing data to drive business decisions
  • Demonstrated ability to thrive in a fast-paced environment, where tactical and strategic activities are driven in parallel
  • Ability to work effectively with tight deadlines in a fast-paced environment
  • Proven ability to manage multiple, competing priorities simultaneously
  • PMP or similar certification
  • Experience in global customer-facing UI development, internet products and technologies
  • Experience working with product and UI designers and writing UI text
  • Experience managing global content projects, including coordinating with other teams
  • Experience working as part of a global team
  • Experience creating content for translation and localization
  • Experience with content management systems and SEO
  • Experience working in an agile content development environment
  • Experience with a markup language such as HTML or XML

And some job description for a program manager:

  • Define the scope of the program in collaboration with senior management and create a detailed work plan which identifies and sequences of tasks needed to successful program rollout
  • Base the objectives and measures of success using analytics
  • Drive the execution of the program according to the project plan
  • Identify area of improvement and drive tool automation to reduce manual work
  • Setup reports to monitor the progress and risks, and make adjustments as necessary to ensure a successful completion
  • Establish a schedule and communication plan to update project team, stakeholders, upper management and program sponsor
  • Create the scalable mechanism, process and communication plan to organize multiple cross functional changes in a fast-paced environment
  • Manage risks and changes
  • Review the quality of the work completed with the project team on a regular basis to ensure that it meets the project standards
  • Create and maintain comprehensive project documentation

And here is a list of jobs I can give myself, or at least blogs I can write (oh how I love my little lists!):

  • mod project with Bear. This is a long-term sort of thing, requiring research, the acquisition of new knowledge and skills, and tiiiiime (since it depends upon collaboration with my free-time-deprived husband). It is probably not going to get me a related job any time soon, but it will be fantastic fun.
  • something I would like to maybe do is create a Real, Live, Newsletter of some sort. This means I need a subject. And an audience. And I need to to investigate, as well as report. But it does not have to be on a huge scale (for now); I just need to corner a particular area. I should brainstorm about this more to discover a likely topic (where my interest, knowledge, and availability/ ability intersect with a potential audience).
  • blog about a variety of topics, such as (dammit wordpress, can I not do nested lists?? must check on that, too): tv show reviews (Arrow, The Flash, perhaps others) (look into maybe writing here, after I get a bit of content out there); music (songs and scores that I love, just to provide maybe a bit of history, but mainly a space to gush, since that’s what I generally google for when I’m feeling wistful towards a particular bit of music. Collected information is what we want – someone to have done the searching and combining for us. I can do that); weight-loss journey (ugh, I know, but people do want to read about it for inspiration, I guess); book reviews (yes, there’s GoodReads, and I am liking that space, but I can’t really distinguish myself there. I want my own, customizable, space where I can develop my own conventions); maybe a focused, topic-driven blog on job-searching or career transitioning; fiction writing (I should do some sort of fiction+music thing, think on that); news report reactions (like a youtube comment, only with way fewer trolls, in which I not only respond to the news itself, but to the way the news is delivered, etc.); interesting places (something along the lines of how I like to “travel” with google maps and wikipedia, perhaps highlighting different places and, again, collecting information in one place about them. Sort of virtual travel, including links to trip advisor and hotels and restaurants and things to do and other stuff); and other things.
  • do something with Twine. I went over there. I had a look around. I was less than inspired. I need to fix that, pronto.
  • create a Twitter account from which to do something wry and clever and markety. Maybe snark at or reply to Twitter advertising accounts. Hmm. Perhaps doing fake ad work for fake products. Hmmm.
  • freelance for Atlas Obscura. Of course, I think I need to actually find and go to the places in question, which kind of relies on whether or not I am proximal to such places, but hey. Maybe.
  • write for Wikipedia? I wonder how beneficial this might be.
  • volunteer work as an editor. Obviously people should be dying for this. An editor, for freeee? What a glorious idea for work experience (and I have previously thought of it, but didn’t think to move beyond editing for the Edgewood Magazine, which would have been some great work experience, but they have not replied to me yet. I should check out the most recent issue to see if they have resolved their editing problems; if they haven’t, I should contact them again, or maybe the publishing company, this time, since I actually don’t know who has control of the content). Obviously it would be painful, hard work and I will wish I were getting paid, but if I do this right, I will be able to turn it to employable advantage. The trick will be finding something reputable to edit. (Is there an “adult non-student intern” website?). After all, I don’t want to end up editing fanfiction >.>) (Update: OMG THIS IS A THING. I am overwhelmed.  And here. And Kiva, too!)
  • Volunteer something-else, perhaps for a non-profit. Look for non-profits in the area that could use, especially, a communications or outreach coordinator, or a writer, or an editor, or a marketer. (Here, for starters.)

Wow, this is a pretty big list. I guess I have a lot of things to keep me busy, suddenly!

One thought on “job (a)musings

Leave a Reply

